Veganism - excludes all animal flesh and animal products, milk, honey eggs, as well as items refined or manufactured through any such product (bone-char refined white sugar or animal-tested baking soda). Vegans also don't wear or use any animal products or anything that has been tested on animals (leather, silk, wool, down). I've heard of a couple off shouts that are getting more popular lately: Beegan - Vegans who eats honey and Gleegan - Vegans who are gluten-free.
Dietary Veganism - includes only the dietary side of veganism and does not commit to a vegan lifestyle abstaining from wear and using vegan products.
Raw Veganism - includes only fresh and uncooked fruit, nuts, seeds, and vegetables. Vegetables can only be cooked up to 90*F.
Vegetarianism - (lacto-ovo or ovo-lacto) is a diet that excludes all animal flesh but includes milk and eggs.
Ovo Vegetarianism - vegetarian diet containing eggs but not dairy products.
Lacto Vegetarianism - vegetarian diet containing dairy products but not eggs.
Macrobiotic - a diet consisting of grains as a staple food, supplemented with other foods such as local vegetables, and avoiding the use of highly processed or refined foods and most animal products
Pescetarianism - a vegetarian who eats fish
Pollo Vegetarian - a vegetarian who avoids red meat and fish but eats fowl like chicken.
Pesco-pollo Vegetarian - a vegetarian who avoids red meat but eats chicken and fish.
Semi-Vegetarian or Flexitarian - typically a plant-based diet with the occasional inclusion of meat products.
Kosher - (Kashrut) Foods that have been prepared in coordination with Jewish laws. For example: only types of meat that can be eaten are cattle and game that chew their chud and have cloven feet. The blood must be drained and the skin and veins must be removed. Most fruits and vegetables are kosher as long as there are no bugs.
No comments:
Post a Comment